Rugby Championship: Bernard Foley recalled to Wallabies squad

Wallabies head coach Dave Rennie has rung the changes to his squad for their Rugby Championship Test against South Africa in Adelaide and Sydney, with experienced fly-half Bernard Foley a surprise inclusion in the 35-player group.

Foley has been recalled following Quade Cooper’s season-ending injury while James O’Connor, who started at fly-half in Saturday’s 48-17 defeat against Argentina in San Juan, has been dropped from the squad.

Langi Gleeson rewarded for Australia A form

Meanwhile, Waratahs back-row Langi Gleeson has also earned a call-up after catching the eye with some fine performances for Australia A during last month’s Pacific Nations Cup campaign in Fiji. Gleeson and Reds full-back Jock Campbell are the only uncapped players named in Rennie‘s squad.

“After a tough two weeks in Argentina we’re extremely pleased to be able to welcome a few men back into the mob this week,” Rennie said in a statement.

“To have their experience on deck will be valuable in what’s going to be a massive challenge coming up against South Africa two weeks in a row.”

Several players have recovered from injuries and return having missed the tour of Argentina due to injury.

Amongst those are: utility back Andrew Kellaway (hamstring) and the front-row duo of Scott Sio (arm) and Angus Bell (toe). Hunter Paisami, Dave Porecki (both concussions) and Allan Alaalatoa (personal reasons) have also been recalled.

“We know how important these matches are and we’ll be working hard to make sure we put out performances that earn the respect of our supporters,” Rennie added.

The Wallabies‘ first game against the Springboks takes place in Adelaide on August 27 as part of a double-header with the Wallaroos hosting the Black Ferns in a curtain raiser.

Australia and South Africa will then head to Sydney on September 3 where their Test will be the first international match at the new Allianz Stadium.

Wallabies squad for Rugby Championship Tests against Springboks

Forwards: Allan Alaalatoa, Rory Arnold, Angus Bell, Pone Fa’amausili, Folau Fainga’a, Nick Frost, Langi Gleeson, Jed Holloway, Rob Leota, Fraser McReight, Matt Philip, David Porecki, Pete Samu, Scott Sio, James Slipper, Darcy Swain, Taniela Tupou, Rob Valetini, Harry Wilson

Backs: Jock Campbell, Lalakai Foketi, Bernard Foley, Jake Gordon, Reece Hodge , Len Ikitau, Andrew Kellaway, Marika Koroibete, Noah Lolesio, Tate McDermott, Hunter Paisami, Jordan Petaia, Suliasi Vunivalu, Nic White, Tom Wright

READ MORE: Rugby Championship: Folau Fainga’a backs Wallabies to bounce back against Springboks