The First Look: Presidents Cup

COURSE: Quail Hollow Club, par 71, 7,571 yards (Yardage subject to change). An upgrade to the long-time PGA TOUR stop came from Tom Fazio as the course prepared to host the PGA Championship in 2017. Originally laid out by George Cobb in the early 1960s, Quail Hollow’s ‘Green Mile’ closing stretch makes for as difficult an ending as an on TOUR. Those holes will play as Nos. 13-15 this week to ensure they play an integral part in the matches.
The club did not host this year’s Wells Fargo Championship as it prepared for the Presidents Cup, but it will be back on the TOUR’s schedule in 2024. It will also host the PGA Championship again in 2025.
Rory McIlroy holds the course record at Quail Hollow. He fired a 61 in the third round of the 2015 Wells Fargo Championship, besting the 62 that he shot in the final round of the 2010 Wells Fargo, which was his first PGA TOUR victory. McIlroy is the only three-time winner of the Wells Fargo Championship; Homa is the tournament’s only other multiple champion, though his win earlier this year came at TPC Potomac at Avenel Farm.
STORYLINES: The Presidents Cup is a four-day competition beginning Thursday. Five Foursomes matches will be played Thursday, followed by five Four-balls competitions on Friday. Saturday is the only day with two rounds, featuring four Foursomes matches on Saturday morning and four Four-ball matches in the afternoon. The competition concludes with 12 singles matches on Sunday. With 30 matches, it will take 15.5 points to win the Cup (each match is worth one point; there are no playoffs, with each team receiving a half-point for matches tied after 18). The teams will share the Cup if the matches end in a 15-15 tie. … Team USA is looking to win the Presidents Cup for the ninth time in a row… Joe Biden, the 46th Presidents of the United States of America, has accepted an invitation to be the Honorary Chairman… Over the past 25 years the Presidents Cup has impacted more than 460 charities in 18 countries worldwide, with more than $54.4 million being generated by the event… Royal Montreal Golf Club in Canada is set to host the 2024 Presidents Cup while Medinah Country Club will host in 2026.
LAST TIME: Hosted at Royal Melbourne Golf Club in mid-December in 2019, the American squad – led by playing captain Tiger Woods (the first since Hale Irwin in 1994) – relied on a final-day comeback in the Singles matches to triumph over a determined International squad, 16-14. Team USA was down 10-8 heading into the Sunday singles but earned eight points to the International’s four in order to capture the Presidents Cup. Woods went 3-0-0 in an impressive effort as playing captain, while Justin Thomas earned the most points for the American side with 3.5. Abraham Ancer and Sungjae Im earned the most points for the Internationals (also 3.5), with Im being one of two golfers on the International side to win their Sunday singles match. The International team got off to one of its best starts ever, going 4-1 in the opening Four-ball session – its three-point lead was the largest it had ever had after the first session of matches. The International side kept the pressure on over the next two days, but the American firepower was just too much to overcome on Sunday, and Team USA won the Presidents Cup for the eighth straight time.
Television: Thursday, 1 p.m.-6 p.m. ET (Golf Channel/Peacock). Friday, 11:30 a.m.-6 p.m. (Golf Channel/Peacock). Saturday, 7 a.m.-8 a.m. (Golf Channel/Peacock), 8 a.m.-6 p.m. (NBC/Peacock). Sunday, 12 p.m.-6 p.m. (NBC/Peacock)
Radio: Thursday: 1 p.m.-6 p.m. ET. Friday: 12 p.m.-6 p.m. Saturday: 9 a.m.-6 p.m. Sunday: 12 p.m.-6 p.m. (PGA TOUR Radio on SiriusXM and
For outside of the U.S., click here for GOLFTV powered by the PGA TOUR